National Mining Museum


Description

Machines and tools. The National Mining Museum's collections consist of tools, machinery and documents in relation to iron ore mining in Luxembourg from the 1870s to the 1990s. The major part of the collection is on exhibit in the mine's underground tunnels. Shown in its original setting, the machinery bears witness to more than a century of technological evolution. Through this spectacular mode of presentation, the visitor can take full measure of the nature of the miner's work. A selection of smaller objects i.e. lamps, tools, helmets, surveying equipment, photographs and archive documents are presented in the showcases of the exhibition hall, of which several are devoted to minerals and fossils.

Contact

  • Rue de la Bruyère
    L-3714 Rumelange
    Luxembourg

  • +352 56 56 88
  • +352 26 56 05 03

  • info@mnm.lu
  • Website

Categories

Restaurant Museum

Tags


Regional weather

Day °C
Monday 09 December 3° / 7°
Tuesday 10 December 1° / 3°
Wednesday 11 December 2° / 4°
Thursday 12 December 2° / 4°
Friday 13 December 4° / 7°
Saturday 14 December 5° / 7°
Sunday 15 December 5° / 8°
Monday 16 December 5° / 7°
Tuesday 17 December 3° / 6°
Wednesday 18 December 2° / 5°